MONTROSS, VA – On Monday, Delegate Margaret Bevans Ransone (R-99th) submitted more than 1,000 ballot petition signatures and completed the requirements to qualify for the June 13th Republican primary ballot to 99th District Republican Committee Chairman Allen Webb. Monday, March 13th was the earliest opening filing date for candidates to submit petitions authorized by the State Board of Elections.

Ransone’s filing of nearly ten times the number of petition signatures required by the Department of Elections demonstrates the considerable strength of her support throughout the 99th district, and her early filing ensures that she will be listed first on the ballot.

“I am so grateful to the many of volunteers who collected petition signatures for my re-election campaign and for the tremendous feedback we have received in recent weeks,” said Ransone. “It’s an honor to represent the region where I grew up and now raise my own family, and I will continue to work hard to represent our shared values in Richmond.”

Delegate Ransone gained election in November 2011 and has served six years in the Virginia House of Delegates. She currently serves on 3 committees – Privileges & Elections, Commerce and Labor, and Agriculture, Chesapeake & Natural Resources. In addition, she has been appointed as Chairwoman of the House Elections Committee.

Ransone was recently appointed to the Joint Subcommittee to Study Mental Health Services in the Commonwealth. She also serves on the Chesapeake Bay Commission, Chesapeake Bay Restoration Fund, and the Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Awards Committee. She has previously served on the Rural Jobs Task Force, the School and Campus Safety Task Force, and was a board member on the Virginia Seafood Council.

Delegate Ransone is a graduate of Randolph Macon College in Ashland, Virginia.  She currently lives in Kinsale with her husband Todd, daughter Morgan, and son Bevan and works full time with her family in the seafood industry.

Ransone currently represents the counties of Caroline (part), King George, Lancaster, Northumberland, Richmond, and Westmoreland in the Virginia House of Delegates.